Saturday 28 February 2015

Book Review: Where Trust Lies

Cover Art

From the Back:

She loves her friends and students in the West, but family obligations have called her home. Where does she truly belong?
After a year of teaching in the Canadian West, Beth Thatcher returns home to her family. She barely has time to settle in before her mother announces plans for a family holiday--a luxurious steamship tour along the eastern coast of Canada and the United States. Hoping to reconnect with her mother and her sisters, Beth agrees to join them, but she quickly realizes that things have changed since she went away, and renewing their close bond is going to be more challenging than she expected.

There's one special thing to look forward to--letters and telephone calls from Jarrick, the Mountie who has stolen her heart. The distance between them is almost too much to bear. But can she give her heart to Jarrick when it will mean saying good-bye to her family once again--and possibly forever? And will she still want to live in the western wilds after the steamship tour opens up a world of people and places she never imagined?

Then comes a great test of Beth's faith. Someone in her family has trusted the wrong person, and suddenly everything Beth knows and loves is toppled. Torn between her family and her dreams, will Beth finally discover where her heart truly belongs?

A companion story to Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series!

My Reflections:

Janette Oke was my first taste of Christian fiction, having been brought up on contemporary fiction It was like a whole new world for me to read clean and wholesome books with a story line that supported my new found faith.

Oke's novels always left me with anticipation for the next book in the sequel. I would eagerly rush to the library and check out my book in a hurry then rush right home and get busy reading. Oh the care free days before responsibilities and deadlines :-)

Having missed out on reading book one, I felt a little lost on some of the background information, so I reading these books in order would be your best bet. I did however quickly find myself immersed into the story and was able to make perfect sense of the plot and cast of characters. It is a fairly quick and straightforward read, with everything you would come to expect with a Oke novel.
With this book you can expect solid morals, family unity, romance and of course the foundations of faith are strong throughout the entirety of the story.

 This book is co written by Janette's daughter Laural Oke Logan who must have the same writing genius flowing through her veins, because it reads just like I remember, seamless and satisfying.

Beth Thatcher grew up privileged but has spent time teaching in Coal Valley, the people of this small town have stolen her heart along with a certain young man named Jack she fondly calls, Jarrick. But upon her return home her mother surprises her with the trip of a lifetime. Is she ready to leave when she has just returned?

 Never the less, Beth is whisked away onto her adventure, along the way finding others to pass the time with. When the unthinkable happens Beth must find the courage to keep her faith intact, and support those who she loves most.

Truly a sweet read. I highly recommend purchasing this book for your Janette Oke collection. I know I will be keeping this book to pass onto my girls when they are ready for young adult fiction.

I received this book free of charge in return for my honest review from Graf Martin Communications. Thank you Graf Martin!

The Authors

  1. Janette Oke

    Janette Oke

    Bestselling author Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") is celebrated across the world for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry. She is credited with launching the modern era of inspirational fiction with the publication of her first...
    Continue reading about Janette Oke
  2. Laurel Oke Logan

    Laurel Oke Logan

    Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, as well as the novel Dana's Valley, which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel and her husband have six children and two sons-in-law and...
    Continue reading about Laurel Oke Logan

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...